The purpose of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program is to identify the future leaders of supply  management and fast-track those individuals into the profession through a program of tuition assistance, executive mentoring, junior mentoring and networking.


To date we have awarded over 124 scholarships to students enrolled in accredited supply management programs across the country.  The original  founders of the program include: R. David Nelson, Theresa Metty, Jimmy Anklesaria, Bob Calderoni, Bob Monczka, Dennie Norman, Linda Obrec and Nancy Richter. 



Nan Richter and Elizabeth Richter

Richter Foundation Trustees

Tom Derry, ISM CEO

Winners of the Richter Scholarship are awarded tuition assistance of $10,000 (December graduates will be awarded $5,000). In addition, Richter Scholars are enrolled in an Executive Mentoring program where they are paired with an established executive in the field as well as matched with a former winner in our Junior Mentoring program.

Current-year recipients were invited to attend the VIRTUAL Annual International Supply Management Conference sponsored by the Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM). Winners were honored at a presentation on Monday, May 2, 2021. One year after graduation Richter Scholars are invited to participate in an exclusive conference for the executive leadership of the profession held concurrently during the Annual Conference.